If I lay here…

The world will continue without me.  The sun will rise.  The sun will set.  The rain will fall.  The leaves will change.  Fall will turn to winter.

If I lay here…

I risk falling into despair.  I can feel the pain.  I feel the heartbreak.  I feel the betrayal.  I feel the discord.

If I lay here…

I can start to let go of the regret.  I can start to let go of the past.  I can start to let things be.

If I lay here…

Separate from him.

If I lay here…

I can feel my breath.  I can feel it filling my lungs.  I can feel it lifting my stomach.  I can feel my heart beating.

If I lay here…

I can start thinking of the future.  I can start thinking about my dreams.  I can decide what I want.

If I lay here…

I think about someone new.  Do you know that I want you to lay here with me?

If I lay here…

I yearn to be touched.  I want to be held.  I want to feel protected.  I want to feel your skin on mine.

If I lay here, will you lie with me and just forget about the world. ~ Snow Patrol

2 thoughts on “If I Lay Here

Leave a Reply

