So you know when you meet a guy, and he seems perfect?

And when you “meet” him, (I use quotations to indicated the meeting might or might not have happened on a dating website), he tells you about how he is running a marathon?  And it happens to be the same race, in the same city where you are doing your half marathon?

And then you find out that he will be staying in the same hotel as you?

And you continue to text?  And you learn that not only are you both runners, but he also likes to cycle, and do yoga?

And when you decide to meet in person, your first date you go for a run?  And it is a great first date?

And you go to hot yoga together every week?

And you enjoy each other’s company?

And you are very attracted to each other?  In fact you have never felt sexier?

And you continue to train together for your races?  You spend as much of your free time together (which isn’t very much considering you have sole custody of your kids)?

And then you discover that he might be a little bit insecure?

And you learn that maybe he wasn’t happy before you came into his life?  And there is an expectation that you are the one who will make him happy?  That his happiness is being held, or not held, in your hands?

And that what you have to offer by way of time, is not quite enough?

And despite almost breaking up, once or twice, you decide to book a vacation with him?  And then a couple of more almost break ups?

And then finally, the Saturday before you were going to go on vacation (three days prior to departure) he decides that he can’t wait any longer?  That he wants more than you have to offer?  That he thought he could be patient but he has decided he can’t?

And so you break up, and the vacation gets canceled?

Ya, me neither.

5 thoughts on “Me Neither

    1. Just realized that it looks like that happened today! It was last saturday.
      It’s all ok. While I really liked him, the baggage is more than I am willing to accept. The insecurity and jealousy was too much. He was jealous of my kids. At the end of the day, this is how things would have ended anyways, the universe just sped up the process. And it was actually better that I was not away. Dealing with an anxious kid at camp, and finding out that I have to go to court to finalize my divorce would have surely put him over the edge had we been away on a beach.

      Like

    2. I don’t know if you saw my comment below. I tried to reply to you but it did not work. We have since tried to reconcile but the same issues exist. The jealousy, the insecurity. It breaks my heart. But the panic attack I had after letting him back in my life for a short 3 days was enough to make me call it quits. I miss him terribly but I know he his not for me. It makes me sad. It is what it is.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I don’t know exactly that story… but I do have a few very similar experiences. Like… you know when they swear they are in it to win it, and they do all the work and make the efforts to get through your walls, and earn your trust, and then you finally relax a bit and think, “oh, yeah… maybe this is the real deal… I’m going to open up just a bit…” and then maybe 4 days after you make that mental gear change, he suddenly decides that he isn’t really for any sort of relationship? Yeah, me either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

